“I’m a Dope: Sarah Palin”

psst....Sarah....we all knew....

psst....Sarah....we all knew....

Vanity Fair has a piece on Sarah Palin, documenting her many melodramas, including the fact that highly placed members of the McCain-Palin team questioned her mental status.

Despite her disastrous performance in the 2008 election, Sarah Palin is still the sexiest brand in Republican politics, with a lucrative book contract for her story. But what Alaska’s charismatic governor wants the public to know about herself doesn’t always jibe with reality. As John McCain’s top campaign officials talk more candidly than ever before about the meltdown of his vice-presidential pick, the author tracks the signs—political and personal—that Palin was big trouble, and checks the forecast for her future.

Perhaps in response/confirmation, Palin posed for a kind of “Tame Playboy for Old White Guys” puff piece in Runners World entitled “I’m a Runner: Sarah Palin”which included an interview and cheesy photo shoot, confirming Letterman’s joke the about the “slutty airline hostess” look. But the text is also interesting, as it illustrates Palin’s well-known disregard for the truth:

I fell coming down a hill and was so stinkin’ embarrassed that a golf cart full of Secret Service guys had to pull up beside me. My hands just got torn up and I was dripping blood. In the debate you could see a big fat ugly Band-Aid on my right hand. I have a nice war wound now as a reminder of that fall in the palm of my right hand. For much of the campaign, shaking hands was a little bit painful.Heck no! I made those guys swear to secrecy. And I probably should have gotten a couple stitches. But I was insisting with these guys, “Absolutely not, let’s just wash it out.” I appreciated how much care they took to help me out. So anyway, I have a little scar on my hand, and I’ve seen a couple of pictures from the debate or of me waving to someone on the campaign trail with that Band-Aid and I think, nobody else knows about it.

So the Secret Service guys kept silent?
They did! And I have this great respect for them that they’ve kept silent all these months later.

except, actually, everybody knew:

Politico:

Sen. Joe Biden will face an injured Sarah Palin in tonight’s debate after the Alaska governor took a spill jogging around running mate John McCain’s Sedona, Ariz., home.
Palin reportedly hurt her hand while taking a break from debate prep Monday.
The Alaska governor arrived in St. Louis today wearing a bandage on the injured hand and is expected to sport it during the vice presidential debate.

Palin’s camp says the injury should not affect her performance.

maybe it did:

PALIN: Well, our founding fathers were very wise there in allowing through the Constitution much flexibility there in the Office of the Vice President. And we will do what is best for the American people in tapping into that position and ushering in an agenda that is supportive and cooperative with the president’s agenda in that position. Yeah, so I do agree with him that we have a lot of flexibility in there, and we’ll do what we have to do to administer very appropriately the plans that are needed for this nation.

?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to ““I’m a Dope: Sarah Palin”

  1. Pretty cool post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really liked

  2. Stumble on in any time. Help yourself to whatever’s in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

